Virginia Tech® home

Alumni Awards

2023 Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Department of Computer Science is pleased to formally recognize Christine (Chris) Bryan (BS ‘87) and Dong Li (PhD ‘11) as this year’s Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients.

Christine Bryan ('87). Photo courtesy of Chris Bryan.
Dong Li (PhD '11). Photo courtesy of Dong Li.

Each year, the Department of Computer Science at Virginia Tech recognizes two of its alumni who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in the computing field in his/her career whether it has been in industry, government, or academia.

  • The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes outstanding achievements and contributions in research and/or practice among those who graduated with a Computer Science degree more than 15 years ago.
  • The Distinguished Early Career Alumni Award recognizes outstanding achievements and contributions in research and/or practice among those whose Computer Science degree was awarded within the past 15 years.

If you would like to nominate yourself or a fellow Computer Science alumnus or alumna for a 2024 Distinguished Alumni award, please submit the form below.

CS Alumni Recognition from the College of Engineering

This award recognizes extraordinary achievement in engineering and service to Virginia Tech of an alumnus or alumna of the College of Engineering.

Recent awardees from the Department of Computer Science  include: 

Kathy de Paolo (2019)
Mary Miller (2013)
Joseph Loring (2012)

This award recognizes similar achievements as the College of Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award; however, this award is intended for an alumnus or alumna whose undergraduate or graduate degree was awarded within the past 10 years.

In 2014, the awardees were David Childress (BS CEE 2006) and Pardha Pyla (PhD CS 2007).

Admission to the Academy requires clear evidence of visible outstanding leadership in the alumnus's or alumna's field of engineering during their career. Computer Science alumni members currently in the Academy of Excellence include: Mary Miller (2010)Greg Lavender (2014)Lucy Nowell (2018), and Lisa Finneran (2022).