Virginia Tech® home

2020 Virtual Awards Banquet Recognitions

The Department of Computer Science hosted its first virtual awards banquet on April 30, recognizing outstanding achievements by both undergraduate and graduate students, as well as excellence in teaching, research, and service by faculty and staff.

Two university graduate student awards of distinction were conferred, including Negin Forouzesh, Graduate Student of the Year Award, and Kobla Setor Zilevu, William Preston Thesis Award in "Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics."

Two alumni, Mario Calixte ('10,'12) and Joshua Mindel ('82,'86), were also recognized with 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award distinctions. 

Calixte is the first recipient of the department's Distinguished Early Career Alumni Award. This distinction is conferred to an alumni whose degree was awarded within the past 15 years and who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership in the computing field in his career whether industry, government, or academia. 

Mindel is the recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award. This annual award recognizes outstanding achievements and contributions in research and/or practice. 

See below for a complete listing of recognitions that were celebrated at the event.

Ryan Buxton

Korey Koberlein

Stephen Yang

Kecheng Zhu

Jonathan Dygert

Chapman Pendery

Kara Probasco

Yen Truong

Neal Mangaokar

Emma Meno

Yuqing Liu

Emma Meno

Neal Mangaokar

Eles Jones

Alexander Lind

Caroline Bonnes

Bethlehem Teshome

Kyle Forst

Alyssa Farrell

Natalia Jacobo

Barbara O’Connor

Aakash Gautam

Lindah Kotut

James Davis

Ayaan Kazerouni

Miles Frantz

Aditya Pratapa

John Wenskovitch